Posts Tagged


Wizard World Hall of Legends
Awardcomic conventionWizard World

Colleen Doran has been named the seventh honoree in the Wizard World Hall of Legends, an initiative to celebrate the artists, writers, and insiders who built the comic book industry.

Read More
Mike Grell
AwardPress ReleaseWizard WorldWizard World Chicago

Mike Grell was today named the fourth honoree in the Wizard World Hall of Legends.

Read More
Jack Kirby
AwardDisneyJack KirbyPress Release

This July, Jack Kirby will be honored for his remarkable creative achievements as a Disney Legend in a ceremony to be held at D23 Expo.

Read More
AwardMs MarvelPress Release

This past weekend Marvel Comics’ Ms. Marvel, by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona, won the second annual Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics, presented at Long Beach Comic Expo in Long Beach, California.

Read More
Marvel, New Year’s Day, Amazing Spider-Man, Howard the Duck, Nova, Spider-Man 2099, Spidey, Obi-Wan and Anakin, Rocket Raccoon and Groot,All New Inhumans, Amazing Spider-Man, Darth Vader, Spider-Gwen, Spider-Woman, Totally Awesome Hulk, Ultimates, Previews,
AwardBusinessPress Release

PRESS RELEASE: The comic book Direct Market remains the single most popular channel of sales for comic books.  In this past year of historic growth it is rewarding to have an organization like ComicsPRO help bridge the gap between publishers and retailers. Since 2010, ComicsPRO has honored those individuals who have made strides to facilitate direct communication between retailers and publishers. This past weekend Marvel Comics’ David Gabriel, SVP of Sales & Marketing, was honored with the 2016 ComicsPRO Industry Award.

Read More
AwardPress Release

February 10, 2016) The finalists for the second annual Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics were announced today. The five nominated titles are: ANDRE THE GIANT CLOSER TO HEAVEN by Brandon Easton (writer), Denis Medri (artist) (IDW Publishing); FRESH ROMANCE edited by Janelle Asselin (Rosy Press); MOON GIRL AND THE DEVIL DINOSAUR by Brandon Montclare and Amy Reeder (Writers), Natacha Bustos (Artist) (Marvel Entertainment); MS. MARVEL by Willow Wilson (writer), Adrian Alphona (artist) (Marvel Entertainment); ZANA by Jean Barker (writer), Joey Granger (Artist) (Emet Comics) The winner will be announced at the second annual Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity

Read More
ContestCosplayFeaturedFrom the EditorMajor Spoilers

Summer is almost over, which means fall is just around the corner, and that means Halloween is coming up really soon. We’re hoping you’ll celebrate our love of the holiday by entering the Annual Major Spoilers Costume Contest.

Read More
AwardMarvelPress Release

Press Release Each year, the GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor the best and brightest portrayals of LGBT characters in comics, film, television and more. Marvel is pleased to congratulate Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson & Clayton Cowles’ Young Avengers on its win for Outstanding Comic Book at the 2014 ceremony held in Los Angeles, this past weekend.

Read More
AwardImage ComicsPress Release

Press Release Image Comics Publisher Eric Stephenson was honored with the 2014 ComicsPRO Industry Appreciation award this past Friday at the annual Comics Professional Organization convention. ComicsPRO is the only trade organization for direct-market comic book retailers.

Read More
Archie ComicsAwardKevin KellerPress Release

Press Release The Archie Comics ongoing series Kevin Keller was announced as this year’s winner for Outstanding Comic Book at the final round of the GLAAD Media Awards, presented Saturday evening in San Francisco. Writer/artist Dan Parent, who introduced the world to the character in 2010, was in attendance to collect the statuette in person.

Read More
ArchaiaAwardPress Release

Press Release Archaia Entertainment is proud to announce that three of its titles have been selected by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), for the organization’s 2013 Great Graphic Novels for Teens List! Cow Boy Vol. 1: A Boy and His Horse by Nate Cosby and Chris Eliopoulos; Hopeless Maine Vol. 1: Personal Demons, by Tom Brown and Nimue Brown; and Rust Vol. 1: Visitor in the Field by Royden Lepp have been selected as three of the best graphic novels for teen readers ages 12-18.

Read More
AwardEco ComicsPress Release

Press Release Eco Comics has today announced that it is a winner of a Green Apple Award. The award was presented to the comic book and graphic novel publisher during a carbon-neutral ceremony at the House of Commons, Palace of Westminster in London.

Read More
Alex RossAwardPress Release

Press Release The American Academy of Art has named Chicagoan and 1989 graduate Alex Ross – one of today’s most accomplished and famous comic-book artists – the 2012 recipient of its Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Read More
Image ComicsPress Release

Press Release Image Comics congratulates Joe Kelly and J.M. Ken Niimura on their receiving the International Manga Award for their comic book I KILL GIANTS. The Japanese Foreign Ministry announced that Kelly and Niimura had won the prestigious prize on Tuesday.

Read More