Browsing: Boom Studios

Boom Studios
0
Ian Brill Joins Boom! Studios

Boom! Studios has announced the appointment of Ian Brill as the company’s Games Workshop Editor. Brill will helm BOOM!’s Warhammer, Warhammer 40,000 and Blood Bowl line of comics while providing steady leadership and unique insight to the expanding BOOM! catalog as the company continues its explosive growth. “I’m thrilled to see what ideas Ian will bring to the table,” said Mark Waid, BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief in a prepared statement. “BOOM! continues to bring in top talent with various backgrounds, which gives us a cutting edge in what used to be a two-company market.” Congrats Ian! via Boom! Studios

Boom Studios
0
Get in on Beta of Warhammer Online

If you are a gamer, enjoy playing Warhammer, and love MMORPGs, then you will probably love getting in on the Beta of the new Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning coming from EA Mythic. Boom Studios and EA Mythic have teamed up to give readers of Warhammer: Condemned by Fire #1 a one in five chance to get in on the beta test. Each copy of the first issue will contain a scratch card, and with really good odds, I’m guessing there are going to be a lot of satisfied readers and gamers out there Of course even with those odds,…

Boom Studios
0
Work for a Comic Book Company!

Hey, all you college kids looking for something to do this summer!  Boom! Studios is looking for interns to help out around the office. As with most internships, these are unpaid positions for college credit only. If you are interested, you need to send your resume, cover letter, references, and availability to interns[at]boom-studios.com. If you want your chances of hanging out with Mark Waid to increase, you better have some Photoshop and HTML skills. via Boom Studios

Boom Studios
0
Meet J.M. DeMatteis at FCBD Signing

Boom! Studios has snagged J.M. DeMatteis to sign copies of his Stardust Kid trade paperback during Free Comic Book Day this weekend. DeMatteis who penned Spider-Man: Kraven’s Last Hunt, Moonshadow, Brooklyn Dreams, Blood: A Tale, Justice League International and Abadazad will be signing at Meltdown Comics (7522 Sunset Blvd. Los Angeles, California) from noon until 2:00 PM this Saturday. The all-ages hit comic series, The STARDUST KID was recently collected into trade paperback by BOOM! Studios. Featuring stunning artwork by Mike Ploog, THE STARDUST KID is a fantastic tale of four children who must solve the mystery of…The Stardust Kid,…

Boom Studios
0
Boom! Studios Sneak Peek: High Rollers

Boom! Studios has sent Major Spoilers a sneak peek of its new series High Rollers written by Gary Phillips. A tale of crime and destiny, HIGH ROLLERS spotlights Cameron Quinn, a ruthless upstart out to make a name for himself. Phillips shines a harsh light on the action and drama of the L.A. underworld. HIGH ROLLERS is a four-issue mini-series, coming out monthly, for fans of violent crime stories like THE SOPRANOS and THE WIRE. Phillips has also written Angeltown for DC’s Vertigo and Shot Callerz and Midnight Mover for Oni Press.

Boom Studios
0
Hunter Moon Movie Moves Forward

Boom! Studios let Major Spoilers know Mekhi Phifer’s Facilitator Films has been attached to adapt Hunter Mooon for the big screen. The graphic novel was created and written by James L. White, scribe for the Oscar-winning film RAY. The story follows a single father who takes his teenage son into the woods for a weekend of bonding. When the son is kidnapped, the father is forced to do the bidding of the captors in a desperate bid to save his son. Thriller is seen in the vein of RANSOM. Hunter Moon, North Wind, Tag, Talent, and the Foundation have been…

Boom Studios
2
Review: Fall of Cthulhu #11

Or, “If Cthulhu calls, take a message…” Okay, I have to admit, I’ve been bad. But I am about to try and make up for it. I’ve heard all the love that the guys here at Major Spoilers have been heaping on BOOM! Studios. I’d heard that they had won the “Best New Publisher” award from Wizard Magazine. I’ve listened to the podcasts and read the reviews. Despite all that, I really did not think that BOOM! had anything for me as a comic reader. Well tonight, while I was getting caught up on listening to the podcasts, I heard…

Boom Studios
0
Murder in Space

In Boom! Studios upcoming mini-series Station, an astronaut is dead at the International Space Station. Is it accident or murder? That’s what you’ll find out in the four issue from writer Johanna Stokes, and artist Leno Carvalho. If Johanna Stokes’ name sound familiar, you might have seen her work on the Sci Fi channel’s Eureka as the writer behind Right as Raynes and Purple Haze. “Johanna always amazes me with her versatility as a writer,” said BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief Mark Waid. “STATION shows a whole new side to her talent. The action is great. The suspense is great. This is…

Boom Studios
0
Boom! Studios Sneak Peek: High Rollers

This June, Boom! Studios will debut it’s new series from Gary Phillips called High Rollers. Artwork will be by Sergio Carrera, with covers by Brett Weidele. “We’re happy to have such a talented crime writer of Gary Phillips’ caliber (pun intended) working with us,” said BOOM! Studios editor-in-chief Mark Waid. “Gangsters and the Mafia are America’s new vampires – the dark creatures of the underground that fascinate and appall us – and there is no one better to explore this territory than Gary Phillips.”

Boom Studios
4
Farscape Goes Boom!

If movies are dipping into comic books for inspiration, then comics have been having a field day with fan favorite shows like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Ghost Whisperer, Doctor Who, and Serenity. You can now add one more title to the bunch – Farscape, which is headed to Boom! Studios for a new series later this year. Boom! will produce a series of four-issue mini-series which will further the Farscape storyline. Each of those mini-series will likewise be collected in trade-paperback form. “FARSCAPE took science fiction television to a new level and ushered in a whole host of shows…

Boom Studios
0
Boom! Studios NYCC Signings Announced

If you are one of the lucky thousands to be able to attend the New York Comic Con this weekend, and you want to meet and greet some of the creators from Boom! Studios, check out the company’s signing schedule for the show. Rafael Albuquerque, cover artist on 2 GUNS, artist on SAVAGE BROTHERS Paul Azaceta, artist on POTTER’S FIELD Kevin Church, co-writer of COVER GIRL J.M. DeMatteis, writer and co-creator of STARDUST KID and HEROES SQUARED Michael Fiffe, artist on FALL OF CTHULHU Tim Hamilton, artist on DOMINION and FALL OF CTHULHU Mike Leib, writer of TAG: CURSED Chip…

Boom Studios
1
Read Giant Monster for Free

Boom! Studios has announced the company has made Giant Monster available to read for free from now until May 9, 2008. Written by Steve (30 DAYS OF NIGHT) Niles and Nat (FRANK FRAZETTA’S DEATH DEALER) Jones, GIANT MONSTER follows space-shuttle pilot Don Maggert. As Entertainment Weekly so succinctly put it,  as he is “…overtaken by an alien parasite just before re-entering Earth’s atmosphere, he transforms into an extremely hungry and extremely big beastie. Mankind’s only hope is a similarly outsized ‘Super Attack Bot’ designed by Nazi scientist Dr. Fenstermach.” You can read Giant Monster here. via Boom! Studios

Boom Studios
1
Wendy Wallace Named GM for Boom! Studios

Boom! Studios has announced Wendy Wallace will be the General Manager for the company. “Wendy is perfect to keep BOOM! running like clockwork. I’m truly excited to have her aboard in such a critical capacity as our GM. When it comes to organization and efficiency, Wendy doesn’t mess around. What’s more, she brings out a professionalism in those around her while still inspiring a highly creative atmosphere,” said Mark Waid, BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief. “Also, she has a mean left hook.” The appointment of Ms. Wallace to General Manager completes the company’s executive team following last year’s appointment of Mark Waid…