Posts In Category

Asterix

asterix-the-gladiator-retro-review
AsterixFeaturedHolidayRetro ReviewReview

It has become an annual tradition at Major Spoilers that after the feast of the bird, the downing of the stuffing, and the packing away of the pumpkin pie, it is time to kick back, relax and re-read a classic Asterix comic from days gone by. This year, we look at Asterix the Gladiator, the book we SHOULD have shared with you last year.

Read More
AsterixLandOfTheGods_03
AsterixMoviesTrailer

Wow! I just saw some of the first 3D animated footage from the upcoming Asterix: The Land of the Gods movie, and it makes me wish two things, 1) That I could speak French, and 2) that Asterix was more popular in the United States so we could get this movie in theaters stateside.

Read More
gothsFEATURE
AsterixFeaturedRetro ReviewReview

What is a holiday without traditions?  Though we enjoy Thanksgiving with all its bird eating and cranberry stuffing funs, the best part of the fourth Thursday in November is sitting down with my collected editions of Asterix to see what adventures the Gaul is getting into this year.  And because traditions generally tie to events from the previous year, what better Asterix book to look at than Asterix and the Goths from 1963, a book that has very close ties to last year’s Retro Review of Asterix and the Golden Sickle.

Read More
afterlife-with-archie-625x315
Archie ComicsAsterixcomic conventionComing Attractionssan diegoShadowlineteaserThe Last Air BenderTrailerVideoWhilce PortacioZombies

Who is excited to see Archie Andrews battle the undead in the upcoming Afterlife with Archie?  If you said “no,” then there really is no joy and happiness in your life. If you said, “Yes!” then good news everyone! There’s a trailer teasing us with undead goodness, after the jump!

Read More
sickle-feature
AsterixFeaturedRetro ReviewReview

The Holiday Tradition Continues… It’s time once again to dive into the wonderful world of Asterix – a holiday tradition at Major Spoilers! The druid conference is just around the corner, and all good druids will be there with their golden sickles.

Read More
RR1
AsterixFeaturedRetro Review

or These Britons are crazy! It’s become a holiday tradition at Major Spoiers – after we awake from the Turkey Sleep, we stagger to the keyboard and tell you of the adventures of Asterix the Gaul. This year the first volume to catch my eye was Asterix in Britain. Does the book stand up to the other great Asterix stories out there?

Read More
asterix2014thumb
AsterixMovies

Sometimes it pays to live in France – especially when a new Asterix movie is about to be released.  The good news is the upcoming movie will be a 3D animated tale Astrix: Land of the Gods.  The bad news… I double we’ll see this hit the states at all.

Read More
RR1
AsterixFeaturedHolidayRetro ReviewReview

The turkey is gone, and before the tryptophan coma kicks in it’s time to get to one of our other traditions at Major Spoilers – our Retro Review of another Asterix book. This time around, Asterix and Obelix make their way to Spain.

Read More
the_mansion_of_the_gods
AsterixMovies

I don’t know what Asterix hasn’t taken off in the States like it has in Europe, but the comic book series is a delightful read, and the movies that I have seen have been well done (and well received in France).  Now it looks like the next film is going the 3D route in “Asterix: The Land of the Gods,” an adaptation of the 17th Asterix book “The Mansion of the Gods.” Gallic hyphenate Alexandre Astier is attached to pen the adaptation, which follows the exploits of a village of ancient Gauls as they resist Roman occupation. Astier is best

Read More
top10tropesTHUMB
Action ComicsAdventure ComicsAmazing Spider-GirlAmazing Spider-HamAmazing Spider-ManAmerican DreamAnimeAquamanAsterixAstro CityAtomic RoboAvengersBatgirlBatmanBatman And RobinBatwomanBPRDCaptain AmericaCaptain MarvelCassandra CainDark Avengersdark wolverineDCDeadpoolFeaturedImage ComicsMarvelTop 10

A trope is a recognizable theme used in storytelling. The kidnapped princess, the final battle, the training montage, these are all tropes we have seen again and again. Usually recognition of a familiar trope is a good thing, it lets the audience know how they should feel about things and sets them up either for a satisfying conclusion or an excited twist. But what happens when a trope goes stale? When you can’t watch two hours of TV without seeing the same situation over and over, like the wriiers just emptied their cliche bladders all over the place? Some themes have suffered this fate, through excessive use now they accomplish the opposite of what the writers want, to take the viewer out of the experience. What follows is a list of tropes that I find tiresome, troubling and most of all trite.

Read More
asterixtwartB72THUMB
artArt Appreciation Moment of the DayAsterix

Comic Twart was on an Asterix kick over the last week, and this entry from Tom Fowler brings a realistic gritty approach to the comic heroes.

Read More
Asterix_Twart-MGTHUMB
artArt Appreciation Moment of the DayAsterixThor

It’s Asterix week at Comic Twart, and Mitch Gerads enters into today’s Art Appreciation Moment with a nice piece featuring Astrix and Thor.

Read More
AsterixFeaturedReview

Fifty years of Asterix and Obelix is certainly something to celebrate, and in the tiny Gaul town, the celebration is just getting started.

Read More
Asterix

Fans of Asterix and Obelix were able to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the comic book series in October of this year with the release of a brand new Asterix and Obelix book.  Unfortunately, those of us in the United States of America had been denied that opportunity at the time.  According to some websites, those in the USA won’t be able to get your hands on the 34th Asterix book, Asterix and Obelix’s Birthday: the Golden Book until January 2010, but I have it in my hands at this very moment.  It arrived last night from Amazon.com and it

Read More