Are you ready to see the Three Stooges like you’ve never seen them before? In April 2021, The Three Stooges become The Robonic Stooges in a new comic from American Mythology Comics.

If you remember Saturday morning cartoons, you remember the Robonic Stooges, which originally aired as its own series in 1977 -78. The series featured Moe, Larry, and Curly as robonically-altered bumbling superheroes who operated from their very own junk yard headquarters under the direction of Agent 000 (pronounced Oh-Oh-Oh), who ran the Super Hero Employment Agency! The series was developed by Norman Maurer, Moe Howard’s son-in-law and the creative force behind The Three Stooges comics of the 60s and 70s. The standalone series ran for 16 episodes, and American Mythology Comics decided, well, that just wasn’t enough robo-stoogeness!

The Robonic StoogesThe comic will launch in April with a special parody story – The Imbecile Gauntlet by Three Stooges’ long-time scribe, S.A. Check. The story pits The Robonic Stooges against the inter-galactic threat known as Oreganose! The second story for the issue, Fright at the Museum, was written by Jordan Gershowitz (Laurel & Hardy, Oggy & The Cockroaches). Interior art for the issue is provided by fan-favorite Jorge Pacheco (The Three Stooges and Laurel & Hardy) and new-to-the-series artist, Philip Murphy (Rick & Morty, My Little Pony). Cover art for the book is by Eisner award winning artist, Eric Shanower, and Jorge Pacheco. This issue marks the first time the Robonic Stooges will venture onto the pages of comics and the publishers promises an all-ages treat for fans new and old alike.

“What can be better than giving The Three Stooges their own wacky super powers?” asked book writer S.A. Check in a press release from American Mythology Comics. “This takes the Stooges smacks, whacks, slaps, and eye-pokes to a whole new level of fun! The classic cartoons were crazy, irreverent, and always entertaining, and we just wanted to try to capture that same energy with the new comic. As always, AM really wants to get the book just right for fans of The Stooges and Robo-Stooges alike! So, we tried to make sure the things we loved most about the Robonic Stooges were present, the powers, the costumes, the junk yard, Agent 000! We also wanted to give new readers a window to join in on the fun, so we came up with a story we felt everyone could relate to with The Imbecile Gauntlet. You don’t need to be an existing fan of The Stooges or even the Robonic Stooges to enjoy the story and have a few laughs.”

via American Mythology Comics

Share.

About Author

Warning: Pregnant women, the elderly, and children under 10 should avoid prolonged exposure to the Robot Overlord. Robot Overlord may suddenly accelerate to dangerous speeds. The Robot Overlord contains a liquid core, which if exposed due to rupture, should not be touched, inhaled, or looked at. If Robot Overlord begins to smoke, get away immediately. Seek shelter and cover head. Do not taunt the Robot Overlord.

2 Comments

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.