IT’S NEW COMIC BOOK DAY! #NCBD

The best day of the week just got a lot better with a new round of awesome comics arriving in stores this week. Staff members at Major Spoilers are here to help you with your comic book selection this week, with their roundup of comics they recommend.

BIG GIRLS #2
Writer: Jason Howard
Artist: Jason Howard
Publisher: Image Comics
Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATION: With the Preserve threatened by monsters, can even the great Apex make a difference? As Ember faces her worst fear, Gulliver shares a secret, and Martin makes a decision.

INGRID: Big Girls has a premise that seems very simple on the surface – a genetic mutation causes some men to because gigantic monsters, but girls who are affected merely become gigantic. That’s good enough for a story right there, but Howard takes it further, finding all sorts of conflicts bubbling to the surface to complicate things. It’s a fascinating sci-fi read.

Detective Comics #1027DETECTIVE COMICS #1027
Writers: Matt Fraction, , Brian Michael Bendis, Peter J. Tomasi, Grant Morrison, Dan Jurgens, Mariko Tamaki, Greg Rucka, Scott Snyder, Marv Wolfman, Kelly Sue Deconnick, Tom King
Artists: Jim Cheung, José L. García López, Lee Bermejo, Dan Jurgens, Jamal Campbell, Dan Mora, Ivan Reis, Emanuela Lupacchino, Riley Rossmo, , Eduardo Risso, , , Chip Zdarsky, David Marquez, Chris Burnham
Publisher: DC Comics
Cover Price: $9.99
SOLICITATION: Light the Bat-Signal, because Detective Comics #1027 is here! In honor of Batman’s first appearance in Detective Comics #27, this special, book-size celebration brings you the biggest names in comics as they chronicle the most epic Batman adventures Gotham City and the DC Universe have ever seen! The World’s Greatest Detective has a mountain of cases to crack: Who murdered Gotham’s most corrupt police officer? What does The Joker’s annual visit mean for Bruce Wayne? And most importantly, what WayneTech mystery will sow the seeds of the next epic Batman event? All this and more await you within the pages of the biggest Batman issue of them all!

STEPHEN:  Putting detective stories back in Detective Comics, this is a fantastic read and a must have this week. This definitely brought back memories of my youth, when anniversary issues were a big deal, and the publisher went all out to make it worth your time and money.

EDGEWORLD #1 (OF 5)
Writer: Chuck Austen
Colorist: Patrick Olliffe and Lee Loughridge
Publisher: comiXology Originals
Cover Price: $2.99
SOLICITATION: Local people are disappearing and it’s up to Killian Jess, Magistrate of Rush, and his odd group of friends to find out what’s going on. But they’ve got freak sandstorms, a hostile military government and the aftermath of a planet-wide war to wade through in order to reach the answers they seek.

Edgeworld marks the surprise return to comics of Dreamworks television producer Chuck Austen, the controversial X-Men and Superman writer, partnering with his good friend, long-time Marvel/DC artist Patrick Olliffe.

In animation, Chuck has produced such impressive shows as Dawn of the Croods, She-Ra and the Princesses of Power, and Rocky and Bullwinkle for Dreamworks, and there isn’t a character Patrick hasn’t drawn for Marvel and DC, though he is most well-known for his work on Spider-Girl and Hawkman. Their shared creative vision brings to life a rich and complex world of characters and stories that marks Edgeworld out as a series not to be missed.

Chuck and Patrick are joined on this expectation-busting journey by outstanding colorist Lee Loughridge, talented designer/letterer Jodi Wynne, with edits from Bis Stringer Horne.

Part of the comiXology Originals line of exclusive digital content only available on comiXology and Kindle. Read for free as part of your subscription to comiXology Unlimited, Kindle Unlimited or Amazon Prime. Also available for purchase via comiXology and Kindle.

CHRISTOPHER: I’ve been enjoying all the digital content from comiXology and I am getting some Firefly vibes from this story. If you have Amazon Prime, you might as well pick up the read as part of your prime membership.

FINGER GUNS #5
Writer: Justin Richards
Artist: Val Halvorson
Publisher: Vault Comics
Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATION: The people we love most leave the deepest scars.

INGRID: Oh, man – such a brief solicitation for a book that really left us hanging last time. Playing with people’s emotions may be fun for a little while, but when the consequences hit, things quickly get real. This is a terrific, thoughtful book with deep emotional reach, and it’s a great read.

 

 

GIANT SIZE X-MEN: STORM #1
Writer: Jonathan Hickman
Artist: Russell Dauterman
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Cover Price: $4.99
SOLICITATION: In GIANT-SIZE X-MEN: JEAN GREY & EMMA FROST, Hickman and Dauterman took Jean and Emma into Storm’s mind to learn what had happened to her. Now they take the X-Men’s resident goddess to the far end of the world to save herself!

CHRISTOPHER: Storm is a childhood favorite of mine and I was saddened when I learned about her mechanical sickness. Hopefully we can see how the Fantomex one-shot launches into this one and maybe save Storm’s life!

IRON MAN #1
Writer: Christopher Cantwell
Artist: CAFU
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Cover Price: $4.99
SOLICITATION: Tony Stark is looking to restart his engine. He decides he’s going back to basics, putting away his high-tech toys and high-profile image so he can get his hands dirty again. It’s time to dig into the guts of real machines, put on some old-fashioned metal and fly! But can he really lay that Stark-sized ego down? Life isn’t that simple, something that old friends and frustrating foes are quick to point out. If you strip down a billionaire to his bolts, does he run solid or just overheat? Tony’s going to find out once a threat to the entire universe rears its head from the past. As he suits up again, Tony remains sure of one thing: he’s still IRON MAN down to his flesh and blood core.

MATTHEW: The end of Slott’s Iron Man run put Tony in the perfect place for something entirely different, and maybe even not apocalyptically grim and gritty. This sounds like it could be a whole new start for the character, and I’m here for it.

SLAUGHTERHOUSE FIVE OGN
Writer: Kurt Vonnegut, Ryan North
Artist: Albert Monteys
Publisher: BOOM! Studios
Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATION: Kurt Vonnegut’s classic adapted in graphic novel form for the first time!

With Kurt Vonnegut’s seminal anti-war story, Slaughterhouse-Five, Eisner Award-winning writer Ryan North (Unbeatable Squirrel Girl) and Eisner Award-nominated artist Albert Monteys (Universe!) translate a literary classic into comic book form in the tradition of A Wrinkle in Time and Fight Club 2.

Billy Pilgrim has read Kilgore Trout and opened a successful optometry business. Billy Pilgrim has built a loving family and witnessed the firebombing of Dresden. Billy Pilgrim has traveled to the planet Tralfamadore and met Kurt Vonnegut. Billy Pilgrim has come unstuck in time.

Slaughterhouse-Five is at once a farcical look at the horror and tragedy of war where children are placed on the frontlines and die (so it goes), and a moving examination of what it means to be a fallible human.

MATTHEW: I’m excited for this. And so it goes…

STEPHEN: Pick this up. Read it. Enjoy it. Try not to become depressed on the life of Billy Pilgrim.

TENACIOUS D: POST-APOCALYPTO HARDCOVER
Writer: Tenacious D
Artist: Tenacious D
Publisher: Fantagraphics Books
Cover Price: $29.99
SOLICITATION: In the fall of 2018, the Greatest Band in the World – Tenacious D (comprised of Jack Black and Kyle Gass) – added arguably its most crucial work to an already scintillating catalogue of rock greatness: Tenacious D in Post-Apocalypto the movie (available on YouTube) and Post-Apocalypto the album. And now – with great excitement – Tenacious D will add the final piece to the Post-Apocalypto universe: the graphic novel, which Jack Black drew and Kyle Gass wrote, complete with accompanied audio. Post-Apocalypto finds Tenacious D thrust into a world of complete and utter destruction following the drop of an atomic bomb. Surviving the attack in classic cinematic fashion (a good old imperishable 1950s refrigerator), the duo quickly learn that new forms of evil have spawned from the blast. One thing becomes apparent – for humanity to prevail, Tenacious D must save the world. With unimaginable twists and turns, an insane visit to the White House, a time machine, a space adventure, and the help of some tried-and-true daddy issues, Post-Apocalypto is as hilarious as it is political, and as brilliant and multi-faceted as its incredible creators.

MATTHEW: It’s The D. They’ll save us all, and rock out the entire time. I’m in.

ROBOT OVERLORD: Love Takes Practice


Dear Spoilerite,

At Major Spoilers, we strive to create original content that you find interesting and entertaining. Producing, writing, recording, editing, and researching requires significant resources. We pay writers, podcast hosts, and other staff members who work tirelessly to provide you with insights into the comic book, gaming, and pop culture industries. Help us keep MajorSpoilers.com strong. Become a Patron (and our superhero) today.

Share.

About Author

Warning: Pregnant women, the elderly, and children under 10 should avoid prolonged exposure to the Robot Overlord. Robot Overlord may suddenly accelerate to dangerous speeds. The Robot Overlord contains a liquid core, which if exposed due to rupture, should not be touched, inhaled, or looked at. If Robot Overlord begins to smoke, get away immediately. Seek shelter and cover head. Do not taunt the Robot Overlord.

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.