IT’S NEW COMIC BOOK DAY! #NCBD

The best day of the week just got a lot better with a new round of awesome comics arriving in stores this week. Staff members at Major Spoilers are here to help you with your comic book selection this week, with their roundup of comics they recommend.

ADVENTUREMAN #3
Writer: Matt Fraction
Artist: Rachel and Terry Dodson
Publisher: Image Comics, Inc.
Cover Price: 3.99
SOLICITATION: The rebirth of Adventureman’s legend and legacy continues—but with it follows the foes that once fought him to the edge of fatality! How can Claire and her family survive?

INGRID: The motif of the unexpected hero has a long history in folklore. This take on it, with a solid base in pulp adventure combined with a heroine who has an intact, loving, and capable family makes this book a sheer joy to read. Top it off with drop-dead gorgeous (and dramatic) art, and this is a pretty-much perfect summer read.

STEPHEN: Yup! Nothing but good things are being said about this series, and the creative team is top notch! Definitely worth picking up today.

BIG GIRLS #1
Writer: Jason Howard
Artist: Jason Howard
Publisher: Image Comics, Inc.
Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATION: When men become giant monsters hellbent on destroying the world, only girls can stop them—BIG GIRLS. Meet Ember—she writes poetry, loves to read, and she’s a 300-foot-tall full-time monster killer! She and the other big girls are all that stand in the way of our world’s complete annihilation! Critically acclaimed artist JASON HOWARD (TREES) takes full creative control as the writer and artist of a tale that’s a cross between JOHN WICK and GODZILLA by way of HBO’s GIRLS.

INGRID: I love a giant monster slug-a-thon. But Big Girls is shaping up to be more than that. I am fascinated by the take that when men become monsters, girls are the ones who can stop them – and that they are giant girls. It just sounds really cool.

DRYAD #4
Writer: Kurtis J. Wiebe
Artist: Justin Osterling
Publisher: Oni Press Inc.
Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATION: Everything has changed. The twins have been yanked from their life of security and nature to a new digital world of metal and mech. It’s bright. It’s scrambled. It’s LOUD. Suddenly unsure of who they are and their place in the world, they question whether they can trust anything, anymore. Will this new realm bring the family closer or tear them apart, forever?

CHRISTOPHER: This comic title has consistently subverted my expectations. Now our protagonists are heading into an urban metropolis after spending their lives in a fantasy-esque town. I’m curious to see how they react and survive!

MARAUDERS #11
Writer: Gerry Duggan
Artist: Stefano Caselli
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATION: THE QUEEN IS DEAD!
The Marauders…the Hellfire Trading Company…all of Krakoa is reeling from the death of Kate Pryde.

CHRISTOPHER: My biggest critique about the new mutant nation is that death never feels permanent. Kate Pryde was the leader of this crew and maybe her death could have lasting effects. Even if the resurrection of Shadowcat turns out to be simple; at the very least we get to see the Marauders go out for revenge!

SEVEN SECRETS #1
Writer: Tom Taylor
Artist: Daniele Di Nicuolo
Publisher: BOOM! Studios
Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATION: For fans of Once & Future and Undiscovered Country comes an all-new original series from #1 New York Times best-selling author Tom Taylor (DCeased) and artist Daniele di Nicuolo (Mighty Morphin Power Rangers) about seven powerful secrets-words, wonders, weapons, and worse-with the power to change the world.

For centuries, the Order has trusted in Keepers and Holders to guard the Secrets in seven briefcases against all harm, but when their stronghold is attacked and the secrets put in peril, the entire Order must face their greatest fear-an enemy who knows too much and is willing to kill to get what he wants.

Now, the Order’s newest member, Caspar, must discover the truth of the Secrets before the enemy does, or risk losing everything.

CHRISTOPHER: I wasn’t really sold on the series until I saw the comic book trailer. The aesthetic of the art really caught my attention. The use of colors and the depth of emotions seen in that preview has encouraged me to pick up the first issue.

STEPHEN: I am SO down for this book. Can’t wait to read it!


ROBOT OVERLORD: Traveling more often is important for your health and happiness.


Dear Spoilerite,

At Major Spoilers, we strive to create original content that you find interesting and entertaining. Producing, writing, recording, editing, and researching requires significant resources. We pay writers, podcast hosts, and other staff members who work tirelessly to provide you with insights into the comic book, gaming, and pop culture industries. Help us keep MajorSpoilers.com strong. Become a Patron (and our superhero) today.

Share.

About Author

Warning: Pregnant women, the elderly, and children under 10 should avoid prolonged exposure to the Robot Overlord. Robot Overlord may suddenly accelerate to dangerous speeds. The Robot Overlord contains a liquid core, which if exposed due to rupture, should not be touched, inhaled, or looked at. If Robot Overlord begins to smoke, get away immediately. Seek shelter and cover head. Do not taunt the Robot Overlord.

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.