This morning, the nominations for the 89th Academy Awards were revealed.

When it comes to comic book movies, only Marvel’s Doctor Strange made the list this year in the Best Visual Effects category. As much as everyone wanted to see Deadpool on the list, it did not make it.

Best Picture

  • Arrival (Shawn Levy, Dan Levine, Aaron Ryder and David Linde, Producers)
  • Fences (Scott Rudin, Denzel Washington and Todd Black, Producers)
  • Hacksaw Ridge (Bill Mechanic and David Permut, Producers)
  • Hell or High Water (Carla Hacken and Julie Yorn, Producers)
  • Hidden Figures (Donna Gigliotti, Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, Pharrell Williams and Theodore Melfi, Producers)
  • La La Land (Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz and Marc Platt, Producers)
  • Lion (Emile Sherman, Iain Canning and Angie Fielder, Producers)
  • Manchester by the Sea (Matt Damon, Kimberly Steward, Chris Moore, Lauren Beck and Kevin J. Walsh, Producers)
  • Moonlight (Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner, Producers)

Best Director

  • Denis Villeneueve (Arrival)
  • Mel Gibson (Hacksaw Ridge)
  • Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
  • Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
  • Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)

Best Actor

  • Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
  • Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
  • Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
  • Viggo Mortensen (Captain Fantastic)
  • Denzel Washington (Fences)

Best Actress

  • Isabelle Huppert (Elle)
  • Ruth Negga (Loving)
  • Natalie Portman (Jackie)
  • Emma Stone (La La Land)
  • Meryl Streep (Florence Foster Jenkins)

Best Supporting Actor

  • Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
  • Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
  • Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea)
  • Dev Patel (Lion)
  • Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Supporting Actress

  • Viola Davis (Fences)
  • Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
  • Nicole Kidman (Lion)
  • Octavia Spencer (Hidden Figures)
  • Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Arrival (Eric Heisserer)
  • Fences (August Wilson)
  • Hidden Figures (Allison Schroeder, Theodore Melfi)
  • Lion (Luke Davies)
  • Moonlight (Barry Jenkins; Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney)

Best Original Screenplay

  • Hell or High Water (Taylor Sheridan)
  • La La Land (Damien Chazelle)
  • The Lobster (Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthymis Filippou)
  • Manchester by the Sea (Kenneth Lonergan)
  • 20th Century Women (Mike Mills)

Best Animated Feature

  • Kubo and the Two Strings (Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner)
  • Moana (John Musker, Ron Clements and Osnat Shurer)
  • My Life As a Zucchini (Claude Barras and Max Karli)
  • The Red Turtle (Michael Dudok de Wit and Toshio Suzuki)
  • Zootopia (Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer)

Best Documentary Feature

  • Fire at Sea (Gianfranco Rosi and Donatella Palermo)
  • I Am Not Your Negro (Raoul Peck, Remi Grellety and Hebert Peck)
  • Life, Animated (Roger Ross Williams and Julie Goldman)
  • O.J.: Made in America (Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow)
  • 13th (Ava DuVernay, Spencer Averick and Howard Barish)

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Land of Mine (Denmark)
  • A Man Called Ove (Sweden)
  • The Salesman (Iran)
  • Tanna (Australia)
  • Toni Erdmann (Germany)

Best Cinematography

  • Arrival (Bradford Young)
  • La La Land (Linus Sandgren)
  • Lion (Grieg Fraser)
  • Moonlight (James Laxton)
  • Silence (Rodgrio Pietro)

Best Film Editing

  • Arrival (Joe Walker)
  • Hacksaw Ridge (John Gilbert)
  • Hell or High Water (Jake Roberts)
  • La La Land (Tom Cross)
  • Moonlight (Joi McMillon, Nat Sanders)

Best Costume Design

  • Allied (Joanna Johnston)
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Colleen Atwood)
  • Florence Foster Jenkins (Consolata Boyle)
  • Jackie (Madeline Fontaine)
  • La La Land (Mary Zophres)

Best Makeup & Hairstyling

  • A Man Called Ove (Eva von Bahr and Love Larson)
  • Star Trek Beyond (Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo)
  • Suicide Squad (Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson)

Best Original Score

  • Jackie (Mica Levi)
  • La La Land (Justin Hurwitz)
  • Lion (Dustin O’Halloran, Hauschka)
  • Moonlight (Nicholas Britell)
  • Passengers (Thomas Newman)

Best Original Song

  • “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” (La La Land, Music by Justin Hurwitz; Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul)
  • “Can’t Stop the Feeling” (Trolls, Music and Lyric by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster)
  • “City of Stars” (La La Land, Music by Justin Hurwitz; Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul)
  • “The Empty Chair” (Jim: The James Foley Story, Music and Lyric by J. Ralph and Sting)
  • “How Far I’ll Go” (Moana, Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda)

Best Production Design

  • Arrival (Production Design: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Paul Hotte)
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Production Design: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock)
  • Hail, Caesar! (Production Design: Jess Gonchor; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh)
  • La La Land (Production Design: David Wasco; Set Decoration: Sandy Reynolds-Wasco)
  • Passengers (Production Design: Guy Hendrix Dyas; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena)

Best Sound Editing

  • Arrival (Sylvain Bellemare)
  • Deepwater Horizon (Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli)
  • Hacksaw Ridge (Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright)
  • La La Land (Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan)
  • Sully (Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman)

Best Sound Mixing

  • Arrival (Bernard Gariepy Strobl and Claude La Haye)
  • Hacksaw Ridge (Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace)
  • La La Land (Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee and Steve A. Morrow)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson)
  • 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi (Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush and Mac Ruth)

Best Visual Effects

  • Deepwater Horizon (Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton)
  • Doctor Strange (Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould)
  • The Jungle Book (Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon)
  • Kubo and the Two Strings (Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould)

Best Animated Short

  • Blind Vaysha (Theodore Ushev)
  • Borrowed Time (Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj)
  • Pear Cider and Cigarettes (Robert Valley and Cara Speller)
  • Pearl (Patrick Osborne)
  • Piper (Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer)

Best Documentary Short

  • Extremis (Dan Krauss)
  • 4.1 Miles (Daphne Matziaraki)
  • Joe’s Violin (Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen)
  • Watani: My Homeland (Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis)
  • The White Helmets (Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara)

Best Live Action Short

  • Ennemis Interieurs (Slim Azzazi)
  • La Femme et le TGV (Timo von Gunten and Giacun Caduff)
  • Silent Nights (Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson)
  • Sing (Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardy)
  • Timecode (Juanjo Gimenez)

Congratulations to all of the nominees! The Academy Awards take place on Sunday, February 26, 2017, starting at 5:30 PM. Jimmy Kimmel will host the show.



About Author

Stephen Schleicher began his career writing for the Digital Media Online community of sites, including Digital Producer and Creative Mac covering all aspects of the digital content creation industry. He then moved on to consumer technology, and began the Coolness Roundup podcast. A writing fool, Stephen has freelanced for Sci-Fi Channel's Technology Blog, and Gizmodo. Still longing for the good ol' days, Stephen launched Major Spoilers in July 2006, because he is a glutton for punishment. You can follow him on Twitter @MajorSpoilers and tell him your darkest secrets...


Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.