One of the interesting things about Hastings stores is they are always running something on the television screens and projector on the wall of the store. For the last couple of months, Valiant Entertainment and Hastings have been releasing a series of comic related live streams for patrons of the store, and it must have gone over well, as the two are teaming for Comics College in January.

Broadcasting into more than 140 Hastings locations nationwide, each installment of “Comics College” offers an inside look at the process of creating comics from start to finish. Featuring a new conversation with a different Valiant creator each week, join us here as some of the brightest talents in comics today examine the most important aspects of working in the comics industry today – from getting your first big break and writing your first script to the finer points of portfolio reviews for artists and editors alike…and much more!

WEEK ONE – HOW TO WRITE COMICS
Fred Van Lente (Writer, Archer & Armstrong; Ivar, Timewalker)
January 30th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK TWO – HOW COMICS ARE MADE
Robert Venditti (Writer, X-O Manowar; Wrath of the Eternal Warrior)
February 6th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK THREE – HOW TO BREAK INTO COMICS
Jody Houser (Writer, Faith)
February 13th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK FOUR – PORTFOLIO REVIEW
David Baron (Colorist, Bloodshot Reborn)
February 20th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

HASTINGS_COMICS-COLLEGE

I’ve seen a couple of the previous broadcasts, and if you are interested in getting into comics, its worth hunting down a Hastings in your area and checking these out.

via Valiant Entertainment

The Author

Stephen Schleicher

Stephen Schleicher

Stephen Schleicher began his career writing for the Digital Media Online community of sites, including Digital Producer and Creative Mac covering all aspects of the digital content creation industry. He then moved on to consumer technology, and began the Coolness Roundup podcast. A writing fool, Stephen has freelanced for Sci-Fi Channel's Technology Blog, and Gizmodo. Still longing for the good ol' days, Stephen launched Major Spoilers in July 2006, because he is a glutton for punishment.

You can follow him on Twitter @MajorSpoilers and tell him your darkest secrets...

Previous post

[Preview] Man Plus #1

Next post

[Cosplay] Cosplay Remix: Star Wars

No Comment

You know you have something to say, say it in the comment section