2000 AD has announced that Judge Death, Judge mortis, Judge Fire, and Judge Fear are all getting their own series in Dreams of Deadworld on September 2, 2015.

The stimulus for this series comes from artist Dave Kendall who was inspired by a dream to create his own versions of the characters made famous by John Wagner and Brian Bolland.

Written by Kek-W and beautifully painted by Kendall, the four-part series is set on Deadworld – the original home of the Dark Judges, who declared that because all crime is committed by the living then all life should be a crime.

The story explores what happens to the fearsome foursome after their slaughter of the entire population but before they discovered the dimension jump technology that allowed them to visit Judge Dredd’s Mega-City One.

“So, a nightmare come true,” said Kendall. “An unheard of thank you, for the early morning wake up by my children, which allowed these versions of the Dark Judges to be dragged kicking and screaming into the light. Also, much gratitude to friends and colleagues on social media. Their support gave me the confidence to approach Tharg with these beasties.”

image001 image002

2000 AD Prog 1946 arrives in the UK on September 2, 2015 and in the US in October.

via 2000 AD

The Author

Stephen Schleicher

Stephen Schleicher

Stephen Schleicher began his career writing for the Digital Media Online community of sites, including Digital Producer and Creative Mac covering all aspects of the digital content creation industry. He then moved on to consumer technology, and began the Coolness Roundup podcast. A writing fool, Stephen has freelanced for Sci-Fi Channel's Technology Blog, and Gizmodo. Still longing for the good ol' days, Stephen launched Major Spoilers in July 2006, because he is a glutton for punishment.

You can follow him on Twitter @MajorSpoilers and tell him your darkest secrets...

Previous post

[Preview] Lumberjanes #17

Next post

[Solicitations] Go behind the scenes of Fallout 4 in new Dark Horse Comics collection

No Comment

You know you have something to say, say it in the comment section