Press Release

Award-winning publisher BOOM! Studios is excited to announce the June debut of The Fiction, a new limited series from Curt Pires (POP, Mayday) and rising star artist David Rubín (Battling Boy: The Rise of Aurora West) about a group of childhood friends who discover doorways to other worlds through a set of strange books, in the vein of The Unwritten and Jumanji.

“Everyone loves getting pulled into a good story, but what happens if the story doesn’t want to let you back out again?” said BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief Matt Gagnon. “Curt has tapped into the ultimate fantasy of escapism and turned it on its head. David is a hugely talented artist who’s been tasked with creating two worlds in The Fiction, and he’s blown us away. This is a series that embraces the beauty and narrative potential of the comic book medium.”

Four childhood friends discover a box of strange books that, when read aloud, can transport them to the beautiful, imaginary worlds described within. But when one of them goes missing, the others vow never to reveal where they’ve been and what they’ve seen. Years later, when one of the remaining kids, now an adult, also mysteriously disappears, it’s up to the last two of the group to dig up their dusty books to find him and finally figure out what happened to their friend all those years ago.

The Fiction #1 arrives in comic shops on June 17th with a main cover by series artist David Rubín for the price of $3.99 under Diamond order code APR151177. Also available in a limited quantity are a 10 Years incentive cover by Frazer Irving (Annihilator, Uncanny X-Men) and a retailer incentive cover by Tula Lotay (Curb Stomp, Supreme: Blue Rose).

thefiction02 thefiction01

The Final Order Cutoff deadline for retailers is May 25th. Not sure where to find your nearest comic retailer? Use comicshoplocator.com or findacomicshop.com to find one! It’s also available for order directly from boom-studios.com.

ABOUT BOOM! STUDIOS
Founded by Ross Richie in 2005, Diamond Gem Award-winning “Best Publisher” BOOM! Studios (boom-studios.com) generates a constellation of best-selling Eisner and Harvey Award-winning original and licensed comic books and graphic novels with the industry’s top talent. BOOM! Studios is comprised of four distinct imprints. The original Studios imprint is home to Mike Carey’s Suicide Risk; James Tynion IV’s The Woods; Mark Waid’s Irredeemable; Sons of Anarchy; and Big Trouble in Little China. Steven Grant’s graphic novel 2 Guns was released as a feature film from Universal Pictures, starring Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg. BOOM!’s all-ages imprint KaBOOM! publishes Charles Schulz’ Peanuts; Jim Davis’ Garfield; Cartoon Network’s Adventure Time, Regular Show, The Amazing World of Gumball, and Steven Universe; Mike Kunkel’s Herobear and the Kid; and Natasha Allegri’s Bee and PuppyCat. BOOM!’s experimental imprint BOOM! Box publishes The Midas Flesh and Lumberjanes. In June 2013, BOOM! acquired Archaia Entertainment (archaia.com). Archaia is the Eisner and Harvey Award-winning graphic novel publisher of Mouse Guard, Cow Boy, Gunnerkrigg Court, Rust, and Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand. In October 2013, BOOM! Studios entered into a unique first-look relationship with 20th Century Fox, giving the studio access to its library of titles and giving the publisher access to Fox’s vast catalog of films. In August 2014, BOOM! Studios began a similar first-look relationship with 20th Century Fox TV to develop properties for the small screen.

via BOOM! Studios

The Author

Press Release

Press Release

Previous post

[Sneak Peek] The Tithe #2

Next post

Zach on Film: 50 Shades of Disappointing

No Comment

You know you have something to say, say it in the comment section