Press Release

Three gangs. Five girls. No way out. This February, award-winning publisher BOOM! Studios is pleased to announce the debut of Curb Stomp, a no-holds-barred, visceral look at the lengths one woman will go to protect her home—perfect for fans of Rat Queens and the seminal ‘70s cult-favorite film, The Warriors. Rising star Ryan Ferrier (D4VE) teams up with newcomer artist Devaki Neogi to create the unflinching story of Machete Betty and the girls of The Fever, a gang fiercely committed to protecting their home of Old Beach.

“Turf wars, fierce ladies, teeth-rattling action—Ryan and Devaki are going to be keeping readers on the edge of their seats with this series,” said BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief Matt Gagnon. “It’s got everything we love about punk rock, and it’s got everything we love about a good story. There’s a lot of heart in this one. It’s just studded with spikes.”

Machete Betty leads a small gang of women under the self-appointed task of protecting their home of Old Beach, one of three boroughs surrounding a rich metropolitan city. When Betty takes the life of a rival gang member in an act of self-defense, she sets off a chain reaction of retaliation, gang warfare, and unlikely allies. It’s up to the The Fever—Machete Betty, Derby Girl, Bloody Mary, Daisy Chain, and Violet Volt—to defend their turf at all costs.

curbstomp03 curbstomp01

Curb Stomp #1 arrives in comic shops on February 25th from BOOM! Studios with a main cover by Tula Lotay (Supreme Blue Rose) for the price of $3.99 under Diamond order code DEC141182. Also available in limited quantities is a 10 Years Anniversary incentive cover by Trevor Hairsine (Ultimate Six), and a retailer incentive cover by Marie Bergeron. The Final Order Cutoff deadline for retailers is February 2nd. Not sure where to find your nearest comic retailer? Use comicshoplocator.com or findacomicshop.com to find one! It’s also available for order directly from boom-studios.com.

ABOUT BOOM! STUDIOS
Founded by Ross Richie in 2005, Diamond Gem Award-winning “Best Publisher” BOOM! Studios (boom-studios.com) generates a constellation of best-selling Eisner and Harvey Award-winning original and licensed comic books and graphic novels with the industry’s top talent. BOOM! Studios is comprised of four distinct imprints. The original Studios imprint is home to Mike Carey’s Suicide Risk; James Tynion IV’s The Woods; Mark Waid’s Irredeemable; Sons of Anarchy; and Big Trouble in Little China. Steven Grant’s graphic novel 2 Guns was released as a feature film from Universal Pictures, starring Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg. BOOM!’s all-ages imprint KaBOOM! publishes Charles Schulz’ Peanuts; Jim Davis’ Garfield; Cartoon Network’s Adventure Time, Regular Show, The Amazing World of Gumball, and Steven Universe; Mike Kunkel’s Herobear and the Kid; and Natasha Allegri’s Bee and PuppyCat. BOOM!’s experimental imprint BOOM! Box publishes The Midas Flesh and Lumberjanes. In June 2013, BOOM! acquired Archaia Entertainment (archaia.com). Archaia is the Eisner and Harvey Award-winning graphic novel publisher of Mouse Guard, Cow Boy, Gunnerkrigg Court, Rust, and Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand. In October 2013, BOOM! Studios entered into a unique first-look relationship with 20th Century Fox, giving the studio access to its library of titles and giving the publisher access to Fox’s vast catalog of films. In August 2014, BOOM! Studios began a similar first-look relationship with 20th Century Fox TV to develop properties for the small screen.

via BOOM! Studios

The Author

Stephen Schleicher

Stephen Schleicher

Stephen Schleicher began his career writing for the Digital Media Online community of sites, including Digital Producer and Creative Mac covering all aspects of the digital content creation industry. He then moved on to consumer technology, and began the Coolness Roundup podcast. A writing fool, Stephen has freelanced for Sci-Fi Channel's Technology Blog, and Gizmodo. Still longing for the good ol' days, Stephen launched Major Spoilers in July 2006, because he is a glutton for punishment.

You can follow him on Twitter @MajorSpoilers and tell him your darkest secrets...

Previous post

The Last Days begin in May

Next post

OPINION: Push #ComicsForward

No Comment

You know you have something to say, say it in the comment section