George Pérez brings original series to BOOM! Studios

by

Press Release

George Pérez is a name that is recognized worldwide in comics from his work on Teen Titans, The Avengers, and Wonder Woman. He is one of comics’ living legends whose work is synonymous with epic events, huge casts of characters, and dense storytelling. BOOM! Studios is thrilled to be the home for his first original title in over a decade with George Pérez’s Sirens, a six-issue limited series launching in September. This sweeping cosmic adventure spans time and space and follows a team of female heroes that will appeal to fans of Battlestar Galactica’s Starbuck, Star Wars’ Princess Leia, and Alien’s Ripley.

“George Pérez is known for working on some of the most beloved comic book characters and stories in the industry, so when he approached us saying he had an original story with an all-female team, there was only one correct answer,” said BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief Matt Gagnon. “Quite simply, the man is a legend. He’s been an integral part of the comics industry for over 40 years, and it’s an honor to be working with him on a brand-new series. We can’t wait for everybody to see what George is creating with SIRENS.”

As an intergalactic force enslaves planets across the galaxy, the legendary team known only as the Sirens must reunite to save the galaxy—but is that even possible when the Sirens themselves don’t even remember who they are? And the rest of the universe only remembers them as…villains? A six-issue miniseries featuring your new favorite comic book team, written and drawn by the master himself, George Pérez begins his greatest story yet.

siresn03 sirens02 sirens01 sirens04 sirens05

 

sirens06

 

George Pérez’s Sirens #1 arrives in comic shops on September 17th with a cover price of $3.99 under Diamond order code JUL140949. The main covers include two full-color connecting wraparound covers by George Pérez and another illustrated by Cameron Stewart (Fight Club 2, Batman and Robin), with two connecting incentive covers of the George Pérez wraparound cover pencils. To find your nearest comic retailer, use comicshoplocator.com or findacomicshop.com. It’s also available for order directly from boom-studios.com.

ABOUT BOOM! STUDIOS
Founded by Ross Richie in 2005, Diamond Gem Award-winning “Best Publisher” BOOM! Studios (boom-studios.com) generates a constellation of best-selling Eisner and Harvey Award-winning original and licensed comic books and graphic novels with the industry’s top talent. BOOM! Studios is the home of Mike Carey’s SUICIDE RISK, Clive Barker’s NEXT TESTAMENT and HELLRAISER, Paul Jenkins and Humberto Ramos’ FAIRY QUEST, PLANET OF THE APES, Max Bemis’ POLARITY and Mark Waid’s IRREDEEMABLE. Steven Grant’s graphic novel 2 GUNS was recently released as a feature film from Universal Pictures, starring Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg. BOOM!’s all-ages imprint KaBOOM! publishes Charles Schulz’ PEANUTS, Jim Davis’ GARFIELD, Cartoon Network’s ADVENTURE TIME and REGULAR SHOW, Mike Kunkel’s HEROBEAR AND THE KID, and Roger Langridge’s Eisner Award-winning SNARKED. In June 2013, BOOM! acquired Archaia Entertainment (archaia.com). Archaia is the Eisner and Harvey Award-winning graphic novel publisher of MOUSE GUARD, COW BOY, GUNNERKRIGG COURT, RUST, SPERA, JIM HENSON’S TALE OF SAND, and many other great titles. In October 2013, BOOM! Studios entered into a unique first-look relationship with 20th Century Fox, giving the studio access to its library of titles and giving the publisher access to Fox’s vast catalog of films.

via BOOM! Studios