Major Spoilers Staff Picks for March 19, 2014

by

It’s New Comic Book Day!

What should you pick up this week? The Major Spoilers Staff runs down the titles they are most looking forward to this week.

All-New-Ghost-Rider-1-Cover-d8f2cALL NEW GHOST RIDER #1
Writer: Felipe Smith
Artist: Tradd Moore
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATION: Who is this new Ghost Rider? And how did he come to possessed with such awesome power? The answers will be revealed when the explosive ALL-NEW GHOST RIDER #1 sets comic shops ablaze this March!

GEORGE: From a visual perspective, Ghost Rider is one of my hands-down favorite comic book concepts. Pairing the Spirit of Vengeance with a Fast and Furious meme seems a little dated and forced. But the original was a riff on Evel Knievel, so from humble beginnings… maybe, two firey wheels good, four firey wheels better?

MATTHEW: The internet has already declared this one as “LOL FAIL!”, but I’m interested in seeing how it shakes down. If you’re worried about the car, just remember that the ORIGINAL Ghost Rider was a cowboy on a horse (and, coincidentally, not particularly original to begin with). I want this to be a new age of greatness for Ghost Rider, but I’ll settle for something cool…

TheFuse02-Cover-665x1024FUSE #2
Writer: Anthony Johnston
Artist: Justin Greenwood
Publisher: Image Comics
Cover Price: $2.99
SOLICITATION: Two dead cablers. Two MCPD murder police. One of them is an FGU. One vic leads to Midway City Hall. The other leads into the cables of SOLAR 1. The LT is furious. I-SEEC won’t help them. But the ME can.
“Someone want to run all that by me again? In English?”

MATTHEW: The Fuse #1 intrigued me, and I’m psyched for issue #2. Sort of a future-noir cop thing with compelling leads, I don’t know where it’s going, but I’m ready to enjoy the ride.

Harley Quinn_4_coverHARLEY QUINN #4
Writer: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti

Artist: Chad Hardin

Publisher: DC Comics

Cover Price: $2.99
SOLICITATION: Meet Harley’s new neighbors, and shudder at the horrifying realization that they are so twisted they make her seem like the normal one on the block!

CHRIS: While I found the last issue to be weak, the series has a good enough track record that I’ll still pick this up. The art alone is amazing and worth the money and it can be quite funny at times. Such a nice change of pace for DC.

illigit-04-pr-1-09ff5THE ILLEGITIMATES #4
Writer: Taran Killam
Artist: Kevin Sharpe
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATIONS: The Illegitimates go tropical as Dannikor’s deadly plan begins to unfold! But, can these five newbies bring down the man who murdered their father before it’s too late? Meanwhile, what is orbiting the earth and what do the Illegitimates’ mothers have to do with it? The adventure continues in the fourth chapter of the Illegitimates’ inaugural mission!

ASHLEY: The revenge of pseudo-James-Bond’s children upon his murderer? Space threats? How could I not be in!

Lazarus07-Cover-91a0cLAZARUS #7
Writer: Greg Rucka
Artist: Michael Lark
Publisher: Image Comics
Cover Price: $2.99
SOLICITATION: “LIFT,” Part Three

Forever’s investigation into the thefts of Carlyle material lead to an alarming discovery and a new insight into the Freemen Resistance. The Barrets continue making their way to Denver, and pay a terrible toll.

ASHLEY: I’ve been following the adventure of Forever Carlyle as everything she came to believe about her family and her place in the world comes crashing down around her. The LIFT storyline comes into it’s third installment and I am just as anxious as Forever to see what is unveiled in this issue.

lokiLOKI: AGENT OF ASGARD #1
Writer: Al Ewing
Artist: Lee Garbett
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Cover Price: $2.99
SOLICITATION: Old God – New Trickster! Kid Loki’s all grown up – and the God of Mischief is stronger, smarter, sexier and just plain sneakier than ever before. As Asgardia’s one-man secret service, he’s ready to lie, cheat, steal, bluff and snog his way through the twistiest, turniest and most treacherous missions the All-Mother can throw at him… starting with a heart-stopping heist on Avengers Tower – and the death of Thor! And that’s just the beginning! Would we lie to you? This is LOKI, true believer – we’re lying to you RIGHT NOW!

PAIGE: Kid Loki is all grown up and on exciting adventures! What more could I ask for? This promises to be a fun story for sure, especially given the promise of a showdown with Thor. I can’t wait to dive into this new story. Loki: Agent of Asgard #1 at is the top of my list to pick up this week.

miracleman4MIRACLEMAN #4
Artist: Leach, Garry
Cover Artist: Davis, Alan
Publisher: Marvel
Cover Price: $4.99
SOLICITATION:
* Origins and revelations bring the first chapter in the MIRACLEMAN saga to its shocking conclusion!
* An unexpected ally leads Miracleman to Project Zarathustra, the site of the secret British operation that gave birth to the Miracleman Family.
* After last issue’s battle, the Warpsmiths regroup to mourn their dead in “Ghostdance.”
* Including material originally presented in WARRIOR #9-11 and A1 #1, plus bonus material.

JASON: The ultimate republishing project of comic continues and I am loving every minute of it. If you are any kind of comic fan, you owe it to yourself to check this out.

pickoftheweekMs Marvel_2_CoverMS MARVEL #2
Writer: G. Willow Wilson
Artist: Adrian Alphona
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Cover Price: $2.99
SOLICITATION: Kamala Khan’s very ordinary life has suddenly become extraordinary. Is she ready to wield these strange and immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to handle?

CHRIS: I like that Marvel appears to be trying new things, especially by way of their artists. Ms. Marvel has a very distinct style and the writing in the first issue was superb. My only problem is Marvel’s hype machine using Kamala’s race as the selling point for the book. Plus, having her change into a tall blonde after receiving her powers seems to send the wrong message and rubbed wrong but we’ll see where they take it.

GEORGE: Ms. Marvel #1 was good fun. I’m always wanting new blood in the Marvel U, so here’s hoping Kamala Khan establishes herself. If Wilson and Alphona keep up the quality from issue one, it won’t be a problem.

MATTHEW: Issue #1 was very well-done, and I like having more super-teens in comics that aren’t Wolverine’s teenage sidekick or another Robin. Kamala intrigues me, the story was good, the art was excellent. Just go buy it, already…

RocketGirl_04-1ROCKET GIRL #4
Writer: Brandon Montclare
Artist: Amy Reeder
Publisher: Image Comics
Cover Price: $3.50
SOLICITATION: The book everyone is talking about has plenty more surprises locked, loaded, and ready to shoot you in the face. It’s all-out action in this issue with a rocket chase through the graffiti-littered subway tunnels of NYC. DaYoung is stuck in the ’80s, with only her jetpack and wits to help the teenager crack a time-spanning conspiracy. Rocket Girl will get the who, what, where, when, and why — and deliver the wham!

ASHLEY: Although a little on the pricey side for 22 pages I’m really into DaYoung’s time travel, teen cop, uncovering a conspiracy adventures.

Saga_vol3-1SAGA VOL. 3
Writer: Brian K Vaughan
Artist: Fiona Staples
Publisher: Image Comics
Cover Price: $14.99
SOLICITATION: The Eisner, Harvey, and Hugo Award-winning phenomenon continues, as new parents Marko and Alana travel to an alien world to visit their hero, while the family’s pursuers finally close in on their targets.

PAIGE: I’ve been absolutely addicted to Saga. The world is so rich and interesting that I can’t help but jump for joy at the release of this new volume. Having it collected in trades is high on my priority list this week. I can’t wait to see what happens with Vaughan’s diverse, dynamic, and multifaceted characters!

PrintSEX CRIMINALS #5
Writer: Matt Fraction
Artist: Chip Zdarsky
Publisher: Image Comics
Cover Price: $3.50
SOLICITATION: The best part of a new relationship is the first three weeks, right? The rush of the new, the gravitational pull of the sudden other-ness in your life, the almost-illicit charge of nothing else mattering…and then it’s time to pay the bills. Well, the honeymoon is over for the SEX CRIMINALS. Can Jon and Suzie survive Jon and Suzie?

CHRIS: This book is like having the best orgasm ever. Good thing that’s not literal ‘cause that would make the pages stick together, making it hard to get all the awesome inside. Wow, that’s a lot of perversion.

Silver-Surfer-1-Cover-c0d13SILVER SURFER #1
Writer: Dan Slott
Artist: Michael Allred
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATION: Hop on board and hang ten when the most far-out series of All-New Marvel NOW! makes its epic cosmic debut this March! Hang on! This is the all-new SILVER SURFER #1!

JASON: I have always been a fan of the Silver Surfer, but sadly I feel the Surfer has never had a great or “definite” run. I’m excited for Dan Slott’s Doctor Who style Silver Surfer series, and with Mike Allred art this book should be truly “other-worldly.”

Sovereign_01-1SOVEREIGN #1
Writer: Chris Roberson
Artist: Paul Maybury
Publisher: Image Comics
Cover Price: $2.99
SOLICITATION: An epic fantasy in the tradition of Game of Thrones, SOVEREIGN is set in a world which once knew gods, demons, and magic, and to which all three are returning. New York Times bestselling author CHRIS ROBERSON (Edison Rex, iZombie) joins artist PAUL MAYBURY (POPGUN, Catalyst Comix) to tell the story of masked undertakers facing the undead with swords, of civil wars and cultures in collision, of ancient threats emerging from the ashes of history to menace the future…

PAIGE: While I’m a little skeptical of anything that compares itself to Game of Thrones, I’m still intrigued by this story. Roberson as the writer also seems promising, considering his previous success.

Transformers RID_27_coverTRANSFORMERS: ROBOTS IN DISGUISE #27
Writer: John Barber, James Roberts
Artist: Andrew Griffith
Publisher: IDW Publishing

Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATION: DEATH OF A HERO! BUMBLEBEE! RODIMUS! ULTRA MAGNUS! PROWL! One will fall in final battle with SHOCKWAVE! This one is for all the marbles, folks-it just doesn’t get any bigger than this!

CHRIS: Once again I’m recommending this. I can’t help it, it’s a sickness. I’m dying to see whose butt Shockwave kicks.

 

 

wweWWE SUPERSTARS #3
Writer: Mick Foley
Artist: Alitha Martinez
Publisher: NBM
Cover Price: $3.99
SOLICITATION: “The Barrens.” John Cena and Randy Orton are forced to work together when they find themselves trapped in the middle of a desert wasteland controlled by the psychotic Wyatt Family. But old feuds die hard and their mutual distrust for each other may cause them greater problems than the crazed followers of Bray Wyatt.

GEORGE: I just wanted you to see this cover. I want Randy Orton and John Cena to look at each other this way forever. Also, inexplicably, Luke Harper looks like Sam Elliott cosplaying Santa Claus. Follow the buzzards, yo.