Chew and Revival cross-over at Image Comics

by

Press Release

John Layman & Rob Guillory, the minds behind CHEW, and Tim Seeley & Mike Norton, the architects of the gothic noir REVIVAL, come together to whip up an appetizing fusion of their New York Times bestselling and critically acclaimed series for two issues stuffed with adventure in a CHEW/REVIVAL cross-over from Image Comics.

Readers will find out what’s on the menu for Tony Chu when he heads into rural Wisconsin—where the dead don’t stay at rest and the living do their best to cope—in CHEW/REVIVAL #1.

“In my head I’ve got a checklist of all my favorite books I want Chew to crossover with, if for no other reason than it gives me an opportunity to visit a world that isn’t mine, that I’d nonetheless like to play in,” said Layman. “Revival is a the top of the list, and I’m stoked I’ve got the opportunity to send Tony Chu to visit. It’s a fun opportunity to check out both books for less than a single issue of each.”

“When John [Layman] proposed the idea, I told Tim [Seeley], ‘no way. That will never work,’” admitted Norton. “After a while I thought about it and went back to Tim and said, ‘yeah, no way, that will never work!’ But then, I thought even more on it. I think the way we’re doing it is reminiscent of when indie books of the ’80s would cross companies and appear in each book even though you’d never expect those universes to collide. It’s just a matter of loosening up and having some fun.”

Seeley added, “Chew showed us all that there was a place for quality off-kilter series, and we’re excited to have the cast of our ‘rural noir’ meet up with America’s favorite cibopath. I think we’ve figured out a great way to take advantage of the ‘WHAT THE HELL’ factor of crossing over two very different worlds that’ll make for a great read.”

“Honestly, even I was shocked how well the two titles gelled together,” said Guillory. “It’s a really, really fun experiment that will surprise fans of both books, I think.”

Perfect for fans of CHEW and REVIVAL who are hungry to try something new and a good taste-test for readers new to either series, CHEW/REVIVAL has something for everyone.

chewrevival1 revivalchew1

CHEW/REVIVAL #1 is served in stores on 5/28, and will be available for $4.99. It can be pre-ordered using Diamond Code MAR140497.

ABOUT IMAGE COMICS
Image Comics is a comic book and graphic novel publisher founded in 1992 by a collective of best-selling artists. Image has since gone on to become one of the largest comics publishers in the United States. Image currently has five partners: Robert Kirkman, Erik Larsen, Todd McFarlane, Marc Silvestri and Jim Valentino. It consists of five major houses: Todd McFarlane Productions, Top Cow Productions, Shadowline, Skybound and Image Central. Image publishes comics and graphic novels in nearly every genre, sub-genre, and style imaginable. It offers science fiction, fantasy, romance, horror, crime fiction, historical fiction, humor and more by the finest artists and writers working in the medium today. For more information, visit www.imagecomics.com.

via Image Comics