A new Duels of the Planeswalkers is coming out soon, which means it’s almost time for the new core set for Magic: The Gathering. Wizards of the coast sent Major Spoilers an exclusive preview card from M14. Take the jump to see it in all its stompy glory.

Major Spoilers - Awaken-the-Ancient

I know there’s a lot of cool stuff going on there, but what I like most is that it has haste. A lot of players get confused by the fact that, if you turn a land into a creature, suddenly you may have to account for summoning sickness. Although a 7/7 for 4 is awesome all by itself. Magic 2014 is shaping up nicely.

Keep it here for more MTG news and reviews.

The Author

Rodrigo

Rodrigo

Nobody really knows what Rodrigo's deal is. He is a perpetual enigma, an unknown quantity, the X factor. He's the new kid in school, the unlisted number, the person all your friends talk about, but you've never met. How can one person be so mysterious, you ask? THAT IS ALSO TOTALLY A MYSTERY! You can try to keep tabs on him on twitter by following @fearsomecritter, but that probably won't help.

Previous post

TRAILER: Razorjack

Next post

Top Five #43: Favorite Fruits

9 Comments

  1. May 16, 2013 at 9:35 am — Reply

    I still say it didn’t come into play as a creature, so it should never suffer from summoning sickness. I feel Wizards called it wrong on that rule. Lands never have summoning sickness, so if it suddenly becomes a creature, it SHOULD not be affected.

    I know the rules say so, but my gut says otherwise.

    • Anthony
      May 17, 2013 at 8:17 am — Reply

      What about the Keyrunes then, would they not be subject to the same rule?

      • May 17, 2013 at 5:30 pm — Reply

        Yes, same rule applies.

    • May 17, 2013 at 4:37 pm — Reply

      Creatures don’t enter the battlefield with summoning sickness. In fact, “summoning sickness” is not technically a thing. A creature can’t attack or activate abilities with “T” in the cost unless it has been under your control continuously since the start of your last turn. Thus, no creature ever “has summoning sickness;” it’s simply checked whether you’ve controlled it for that duration when you need to tap it for something, regardless of when or how it became a creature.

      • May 17, 2013 at 5:35 pm — Reply

        “Summoning sickness” is the commonly used name for it. Just like bounce, mill and burn aren’t actually game words but are regularly used in conversation even by the game’s designers.

  2. Invisible Stalker
    May 16, 2013 at 1:53 pm — Reply

    @Jacob: this depends of you had the land under your controll since the beginning of the turn you cast the enchantment: of you played the land the turn you enchanted it, it would suffer summoning sickness. So the haste ability makes sense.

    • May 17, 2013 at 5:31 pm — Reply

      Yes, I think he gets the rule. He just doesn’t like it

  3. May 19, 2013 at 11:45 pm — Reply

    That could be sick on turn five with a bloodrushed rampager…. or with a boros charm.

  4. David Paradis
    November 3, 2013 at 4:50 pm — Reply

    This land creature can be kill by deathtouch??

You know you have something to say, say it in the comment section