Press Release

Just in time for the new blockbuster movie, catch up with Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s famous detective Sherlock Holmes with IDW Publishing’s new hardcover collection. The Sherlock Holmes collection will present every classic short story and novel in the order Holmes lived it, beautifully accented with all-new, full-color illustrations by celebrated artist Kelley Jones.

“Sherlock Holmes is such an iconic character and there’s a real appeal to him and to Watson even now,” said IDW co-founder and CEO, Ted Adams. “We decided to publish the stories in chronological order and I think both old and new Holmes fans will enjoy it.”

Sherlock Holmes Volume 1 features such classic stories as “The ‘Gloria Sott’,” “The Musgrave Ritual,” A Study in Scarlet, “The Adventure of the Speckled Band,” “The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet,” “The Resident Patient,” and “The Reigate Squires.” Artist Kelley Jones creates insightful illustrations that capture the essence of each story.

Chronologically the first story of Holmes’s life, “The Gloria Scott” begins Sherlock Holmes Volume 1 with a narration of the nascent detective’s first true case. In “The Musgrave Ritual,” another one of the few stories told by Holmes, the detective describes a case that involved the Crown of England. A Study in Scarlet is Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s first novel about Holmes, and details Watson’s introduction to Holmes, who follows the detective on two investigations. Holmes and Watson again solve complex murder cases in “The Speckled Band” and “The Resident Patient.” In “The Beryl Coronet,” the duo help avoid a national scandal by deducing the real criminals behind an attempted burglary, while “The Reigate Squires” adds blackmail to the mix.

Sherlock Holmes Volume 1 will be available in stores in November. Diamond order code SEP09 0908.
via IDW Publishing


About Author

1 Comment

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.