The Doug Wright Awards for Canadian cartooning were announced the other day that list 10 noms up for the award.

The nominees are:

Best Book

  • Shenzen: A Travelogue From China, Guy Delisle (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • This Will All End in Tears, Joe Ollman (Insomniac Press)
  • Scott Pilgrim and The Infinite Sadness, Bryan Lee O’Malley (ONI Press)
  • Gilded Lilies, Jillian Tamaki (Conundrum Press)
  • Nog-a-dod, Marc Bell ed. (Conundrum Press)

Best Emerging Talent

  • Gray Horses, Hope Larson (ONI Press)
  • House of Sugar, Rebecca Kraatz (Tulip Tree Press)
  • Was She Pretty?, Leanne Shapton (Farrar, Strauss & Giroux)
  • Bacter-area, Keith Jones (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Mendacity, Tamara Faith Berger & Sophie Cossette (Kiss Machine Presents…)

The nominees for the 3rd annual Doug Wright Awards were selected by a committee that included cartoonists Chester Brown and Seth, director Jerry Ciccoritti and comic historian Jeet Heer.

The winners will de decided by a five-member jury that includes: director Bruce McDonald, professor and writer Mark Kingwell, journalist and writer Judy MacDonald, 2006 Wright Award-winning cartoonist Lorenz Peter, and former National Post journalist Jessica Johnson.

The 2007 Wright Awards will be presented at the Toronto Comics Art Festival, August 17.

via Wright Awards


About Author

Stephen Schleicher began his career writing for the Digital Media Online community of sites, including Digital Producer and Creative Mac covering all aspects of the digital content creation industry. He then moved on to consumer technology, and began the Coolness Roundup podcast. A writing fool, Stephen has freelanced for Sci-Fi Channel's Technology Blog, and Gizmodo. Still longing for the good ol' days, Stephen launched Major Spoilers in July 2006, because he is a glutton for punishment. You can follow him on Twitter @MajorSpoilers and tell him your darkest secrets...

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.